PreLicense.com provides state-approved Virginia PreLicense Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

PreLicense.com offers courses for the following VA license types:

Virginia PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

Virginia PreLicense Education Requirements

Individual Resident Producer Requirements

To qualify for a resident Virginia insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Virginia Bureau of Insurance that he or she is of good character and has a good reputation for honesty (including submitting a current criminal history record report from the Virginia State Police).
  • Be a legal resident of Virginia.
  • Pass the appropriate license exam(s).
Before making an exam reservation applicants should thoroughly review the State of Virginia Licensing Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook and additional licensing information can be accessed by clicking on the tabs above.

Virginia PreLicense Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Effective April 1,2017: All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products in Virginia, must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by January 1, 2018. All producers licensed on or after January 1, 2018 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.
*Residents must take a Virginia approved courses.
*Non-residents who satisfy (or have already completed) the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Virginia law, will be deemed compliant for the Virginia requirement.
(Go to the course catalog to order WebCE's 4-Hour Annuity Training Course, which fulfills this requiremen

Additional Information

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products. The initial training must consist of 6-hours of general LTC topics and 2-hours of LTC Partnership topics.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every license period, following the initial training requirement. The ongoing training must consist of 2-hours of general LTC topics and 2-hours of LTC Partnership topics.

Important Note: Failure to complete the Ongoing 4-hour training course within 24 months of completion of the Initial 8-hour training course, will forfeit recognition of the initial 8-hour training course by the Virginia Department of Insurance, and will result in the Initial 8-hour training course having to be repeated.

Additional Information

Virginia PreLicense Exam Prep Course Requirements

Prelicense Course Delivery

Applicants must read each lesson before they can proceed to the next lesson.

Virginia PreLicense Exam Prep Exam Requirements

Prelicense Course Exam

  • Passing Score: PreLicense.com suggests students pass PreLicense.com's Practice exam with a score of 70% or higher.
  • Exam Proctor Requirements: The Practice exam does not require a proctor.

Reporting and Virginia PreLicense Exam Prep Certificates of Completion

Certificate of Completion

The Virginia Division of Insurance does not require a PLE certificate of completion.

State Reporting Requirements

The Virginia Division of Insurance does not require PLE course completions to be reported.

Virginia PreLicense Application Process

License Application Process

  1. Make an Examination Reservation: To register online for an insurance license exam in Virginia, go to http://www.pearsonvue.com/va/insurance// or Register by Phone (888) 204-6272

  2. When making a licensing exam reservation, applicants will be required to provide their school code number. PreLicense.com's Virginia school code number is 2052.

    Materials Needed to Register: Candidates must present two (2) forms of current signature identification. The primary identification must be government-issued and photo-bearing with a signature and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature. Identification must be in English.

  3. Fingerprinting Process: Before applying for the license, you must obtain a current (no more than 90 days old) Criminal History Record Report (“CHRR”) through the Virginia State Police (“VSP”). Visit www.vsp.state.va.us to download Form SP-167. When completing the form, have the report mailed back to you, not to the Bureau. For expedited service, you may also request a VSP CHRR for an additional fee through the following insurance industry associations: Independent Insurance Agents of Virginia, Inc. (www.iiav.com), or National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors (www.NAIFA-Virginia.org).

  4. Resident License Application Process: Candidates who receive a passing score on the state exam will need to apply for the license online. Apply for your insurance license online by visiting www.nipr.com

Transfer Virginia PreLicense Application Process

Transfer Producer Requirements

Applicants for a Virginia resident license who are relocating from another state in which they are licensed are required to file an application and pay required fees but are exempt from the licensing examination. The application must include a “clearance letter” issued by the insurance department in the applicant’s former home state. In addition:

Licensees holding an active nonresident Virginia license when relocating to Virginia can continue to operate under the nonresident license for a maximum of 90 days from the date of moving to Virginia. During that 90-day period, the licensee must submit an application and a nonrefundable application processing fee.

Licensees who do not have a Virginia nonresident license when they move to Virginia but who held equivalent authority in their former state of residence must file an application and a nonrefundable application processing fee for each license applied for within 90 days of the cancellation of their license(s) in their previous home state.

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: Apply for New Resident license applictaion online by visiting www.nipr.com

Apply by Paper: Download paper application at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/PublicForms/550/3001.pdf and mail to:
Virginia Bureau of Insurance
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218

Materials Needed to Apply:
  • Letter of Clearance from home state
  • License application
  • Appropriate license application fees
Fingerprinting Process: There are no fingerprint requirements in Virginia.

Non-Resident Virginia PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

Non-Resident License Requirements

An individual licensed in his or her state of residence may obtain equivalent license authority in Virginia if all of the following apply:
  • The applicant pays all required fees.
  • The applicant submits to the Bureau either the license application he or she submitted to his or her home state OR completes a Virginia-specific application and submits it through one of the three resident application methods described above.
  • The applicant’s home state issues nonresident agent licenses to residents of Virginia on the same basis.

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: Apply for New Resident license applictaion online by visiting www.nipr.com

Apply by Paper: Download paper application at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/PublicForms/550/3001.pdf and mail to:
Virginia Bureau of Insurance
P.O. Box 1157
Richmond, VA 23218

Materials Needed to Apply:
  • Letter of Clearance from home state
  • License application
  • Appropriate license application fees
Fingerprinting Process: There are no fingerprint requirements in Virginia.

Virginia PreLicense Contact Info

Virginia Bureau of Insurance

  • Phone: (804) 371-9741
  • Website: www.scc.virginia.gov
  • Mail: Tyler Building 1300 E. Main St. Richmond, VA 23219

Pearson Vue


The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.