PreLicense.com provides state-approved Vermont PreLicense License Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!
Vermont PreLicense Prep
Vermont PreLicensing Requirements
The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.
Major Lines of Authority Available
Life | Accident, Health, and HMO | Property | Casualty | Personal Lines | Bail Bond | Title| *Variable Life and Annuity
*To qualify for a variable life and annuity license, applicants must be life licensed or in the process of becoming life licensed and must be registered with FINRA Series 6 or 7 and 63.
Licensing Requirements and Process
Individual Resident Producer Requirements
To qualify for a license as a resident Vermont insurance producer, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Be a resident of Vermont.
- Be deemed by the Commissioner to be competent, trustworthy, and financially responsible.
- Pass the written license examination as required by state statute.
- Submit an application and pay the required fees.
Requirements for Conducting Insurance Transactions as an Appointed Producer
Vermont is an appointment state, meaning if an insurer does business with a producer as its agent, the insurer must appoint the producer as its agent for each qualification for which the producer will be acting as the agent of the insurer. A producer must be appointed within 15 days from the date an agency contract is executed or from when the first insurance application is submitted, whichever is sooner.
License Application Process:
1. Register and schedule your examination online at any time by visiting www.prometric.com or by calling 800-868-6113.
Materials Needed to Bring:
You must present a valid form of identification before you can test. That identification document must:
• Be government-issued (e.g., driver’s license, state-issued identification card or military identification card).
• Contain both a current photo and your signature.
• Have a name that exactly matches the name used to register for the examination (including designations such as “Jr.” and “III”).
- A total score of 70 percent is required to pass
- At the end of your examination, your score will be shown on the screen and you will receive a printed score report, and electronically to the Department.
2. Apply for your License:
Residents can apply electronically using SIRCON (www.sircon.com) or NIPR (www.nipr.com) . Applying electronically significantly reduces the time for processing your application.
NOTE: You must wait 48 hours after passing your examination to apply electronically.
Individual Nonresident Producer Requirements and Process
Applicants who are not residents of Vermont but hold one or more similar insurance licenses in their home state may qualify for a Vermont nonresident producer’s license without taking a Vermont licensing exam. Applicants wishing to apply for a Vermont nonresident producer’s license can apply either with a paper application or electronically.
Application Process—Paper Application
If applying with a paper application, the applicant must submit to the Department the following:
- An NAIC Uniform Individual Application
- An application fee of $30 and a biennial license fee.
- Applicants should refer to the Vermont BISHCA Web site and locate the state in which they reside to determine the license fee. Checks should be made payable to VT BISHCA.
If applying electronically, the nonresident applicant may use either one of the following third-party vendor services:
Registering for an Exam
To register or to schedule an examination, applicants must register directly with Prometric, the exam provider, through one of the following:
- Online through the Prometric Web site at least 24 hours before the desired exam date.
- Call 800-868-6113 between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m. (Eastern time), Monday through Friday.
- Fax your completed exam registration form to Prometric at 800-347-9242.
- Mail your completed exam registration form to Prometric:
ATTN: Vermont Insurance Examination Registration
1260 Energy Lane
St. Paul, MN 55108
An exam registration remains valid for 90 calendar days after it has been processed, and it expires without further notice. Registration fees are not refunded.
Lastly, walk-in examinations are not available.
For information about your exam:
State-Required Product Training
Your state has special training requirements in order for licensed agents to sell the following products:
Long-Term Care: Producers licensed to sell LTC insurance products in Vermont, must complete a one-time initial 8-hour NAIC LTC training course before they can sell, solicit, or negotiate LTC Products. 2 hours must contain Vermont-specific information including Vermont Medicaid information.
Purchasing State-required Product Training with your exam prep course from the PreLicense.com catalog will allow you to take one of the special training requirement courses from WebCE. Additional fees for state filing, books or shipping may apply at the time you register to begin taking the product training course.
Click here for more information regarding state-specific product training.
Vermont Insurance Division—Producer Licensing Section
89 Main Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-3101