PreLicense.com provides state-approved North Carolina PreLicense License Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!
North Carolina PreLicense Prep
North Carolina PreLicensing Requirements
Individual Resident Producer Requirements
To qualify for a resident North Carolina state insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Be a resident of the state of North Carolina
- Pass the license examination as required by the state statute (see Prelicense education requirements below)
- File a license application online and submit fingerprints
PreLicense Education Requirements (PLE)
Applicants must complete 20-hours of prelicense education (PLE) for each major line of authority (LOA). An applicant who wishes to obtain a Life and Health license must complete 40 hours of PLE, and will receive a separate Examination Admission Ticket for each LOA. In addition, applicants wishing to take the Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care examination must complete 10-hours of PLE. Applicants must hold an Accident and Health and Sickness license to be eligible for a Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care license.
Life – 20
Accident & Health or Sickness – 20
Casualty – 20
Personal Lines – 20
Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care – 10
State Candidate Handbook
Before making an exam reservation Applicants should thoroughly review the North Carolina Insurance Licensing Examination Candidate Guide which contains the Exam Content Outlines ?and important information regarding eligibility and the examination and licensing application process.
PLE Course Delivery
- Prelicense education providers are required to record the actual time the applicant spends in the course. Applicants are not allowed access to the Exam Admission Ticket until the applicant's time equals the number of required hours for the LOA.
- Per North Carolina Division of Insurance regulations, online course providers are not permitted to allow printing of course lesson material.
PLE Course Exam
- Passing Score: Applicants must pass the PLE final exam with a passing score of 70% or higher to receive an Exam Admission Ticket.
- Exam Proctor Requirements: PreLicense.com final exams are not required to be proctored.
Certificate of Completion
Upon successful completion of the course and Final Exam, PreLicense.com will e-mail you a partially completed Exam Admission Ticket. Note: Certificates are typically emailed within 15 minutes of course completion. You must enter the date of your scheduled license examination (determined after you contact PearsonVUE, the exam provider) and sign the Exam Admission Ticket. You are required to bring the completed Exam Admission Ticket to the test site on the day of your license exam.
IMPORTANT: Please note, per North Carolina rules, Exam Admission Tickets cannot be faxed to applicants.
An Exam Admission ticket is valid for only ninety (90) days from the date of course completion, or a maximum of five (5) examination attempts, whichever occurs first.
State Reporting Requirements
Currently, North Carolina Division of Insurance does not require PLE course completions to be reported to the state.
License Application Process
1. Complete Prelicense course: completing the 20-hour course in the relevant field and passing the final exam with a score of at least 70% provides a Certificate of Completion, also called an Exam Admission Ticket. This Ticket is required to sit for the state licensing exam.
2. Applicants should submit a resident initial application on NIPR prior to taking any required licensing examinations. Licensing exams cannot be scheduled until you complete a license application online with NIPR and receive an email authorization from PearsonVUE that you are eligible to take an exam.
NIPR applications are valid for six (6) months from the application submission date and the applicant must complete all requirements for the license application to be completed within this timeframe.
3. Register for the state licensing exam. Once you have passed the pre-licensing course, you will need to make a reservation to take the state examination. To do so, visit www.pearsonvue.com. You must bring your Exam Admission Ticket to sit for the state exam. The Exam Admission Ticket gives you 5 attempts to pass the state exam in a 90-day period that follows the completion of the pre-licensing course. If you use all 5 attempts without passing, or the 90-day period expires without passing, you will need to take the pre-licensure course again before you can make another attempt.
State Exam / Exam Format
- Bring two forms of current signature identification:
- A primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired) such as a Driver’s License or Passport
- A secondary ID (signature, not expired) such as a Social Security Card, Debit or Credit card
- The passing score required on each exam is 70.
- Each exam contains “pretest” questions that are mixed in with the scored questions and are not identified. Pretest questions may not be covered in your educational materials and do not affect your final score!
4. Fingerprinting Process
All new resident applicants are required to submit electronic fingerprints through a vendor selected by the Department for a criminal background check. Candidates will receive a link to the fingerprint submission forms in the NIPR/Pearson Vue exam confirmation email. The electronic fingerprint submission process is outlined here on the North Carolina Agent Services Division website. You may download a copy of the Fingerprint/Criminal Background Packet here. In addition, pursuant to North Carolina law, fingerprints must be certified by a law enforcement officer. Electronic fingerprint submission must be done at a law enforcement office in North Carolina that has Live Scan capability. Click here to view a list of Live Scan locations.
Send the completed SBI forms pages 1 through 3 to the NC Licensing Office of Pearson VUE via:
Fax to 888-959-3010 or;
Scan documents and send via email to NorthCarolinaLicensingOffice@Pearson.com; or
Mail to: NCDOI/Pearson VUE
PO Box 14209
Raleigh, NC 27620
5. Once you have successfully passed all the insurance licensing exams you have applied for through NIPR, you will receive a congratulatory email with instructions on printing your license(s). Wait 48-72 hour after receiving the email notification that your application has been processed
New Resident Producer Requirements
New residents who still hold an active license in their previous home state will not be required to complete prelicense education or take the license examination as long as:
- The application is received within 90 days of their former home state license being canceled
- The license being applied for is the same line of authority as in the previous state.
A nonresident licensee who wishes to become a resident licensee must submit a license application and appropriate fees to the North Carolina Division of Insurance.
IMPORTANT: North Carolina requires licensees to obtain an additional Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care license to sell Medicare supplement long-term care insurance, and Medicare Advantage plans. However, applicants who held an Accident and Health and Sickness license in their previous home state and had authority under that license to sell these policies will not be subject to complete the NC Medicare supplement pre-license course.
Applicants who have authority for Medicare Supplement and Long-Term Care under their previous home state Accident, Health, and Sickness license may apply for a Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care license online at www.nipr.com.
Ways to Apply
Materials Needed to Apply
Applicants who wish to receive a resident insurance license in North Carolina will need to forward the materials listed below to the North Carolina Division of Insurance.
All new resident applicants are required to submit electronic fingerprints through a vendor selected by the Department for a criminal background check. The applicant shall bear the cost for electronic fingerprinting, which is currently $38.00. Applicants will need to submit fingerprints within 30 days of applying for a license. The electronic fingerprint submission process is outlined here on the North Carolina Agent Services Division website. You may download a copy of the Fingerprint/Criminal Background Packet here. In addition, pursuant to North Carolina law, fingerprints must be certified by a law enforcement officer. Electronic fingerprint submission must be done at a law enforcement office in North Carolina that has Live Scan capability. Click here to view a list of Live Scan locations
Nonresident Producer Requirements
Nonresident license candidates may obtain a North Carolina agent license, without having to complete the prelicense education requirement or take a license examination, as long as they are currently licensed as a resident and in good standing in their home state.
Nonresident applicants who hold an active resident license in their home state for the same license type may apply for a North Carolina nonresident license online at www.nipr.com.
IMPORTANT: North Carolina requires licensees to obtain an additional Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care license to sell Medicare supplement long-term care insurance, and Medicare Advantage plans. However, applicants who hold an Accident and Health and Sickness license in their home state and have authority under that license to sell these policies will not be subject to complete the NC Medicare supplement pre-license course.
Applicants who have authority for Medicare Supplement and Long-Term Care under their home state Accident, Health, and Sickness license may apply for a Medicare Supplement/Long-Term Care license online at www.nipr.com.
Fingerprints are not required for non-resident insurance producer license applicants.
State-Required Product Training
Your state has special training requirements in order for licensed agents to sell the following products:
Long-Term Care: All producers licensed prior to January 1, 2011 must complete an initial 8-hourtraining course prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products. *Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to North Carolina's law will be deemed compliant with this requirement only if the insurance company chooses to accept the training completed in another state.
Purchasing state-required Product Training with your exam prep course from the PreLicense.com catalog will allow you to take one of the special training requirement courses from WebCE. Additional fees for state filing, books or shipping may apply at the time you register to begin taking the product training course.
Click here for more information regarding state-specific product training.
North Carolina Division of Insurance
Agent Services Division
1204 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-12047
Web Site: http://www.ncdoi.com
Pearson Vue Web Site
The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.