PreLicense.com provides state-approved Michigan PreLicense Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

PreLicense.com offers courses for the following MI license types:

Michigan PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

PreLicense Exam Prep Provider Number: 0914

Michigan PreLicense Education Requirements

Individual Resident Producer Requirements

To qualify for a resident Michigan state insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Be a resident of Michigan
  • Complete an approved prelicense education course (see prelicense requirements below)
  • Pass a written examination
  • File a license application

Required Michigan PreLicense Exam Prep Hours

PreLicense Education Requirements (PLE)

Applicants must complete 20-hours of Prelicense education (PLE) for each major line of authority (LOA). An applicant who wishes to obtain a Life and Accident & Health license must complete 40 hours of PLE, and will receive a separate certificate of completion for each LOA.
  • Life – 20
  • Health and Accident – 20
  • Property – 20
  • Casualty – 20
  • Personal Lines – 20

Before making an exam reservation applicants should thoroughly review the State of Michigan Licensing Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook and additional licensing information can be accessed by clicking on the tabs above.

Michigan PreLicense Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Initial Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Additional Information

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling, soliciting or negotiating LTC products.
*Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to Michigan's law will be deemed compliant for Michigan's requirement.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-months license period, following the initial training requirement.

Additional Information

Michigan PreLicense Exam Prep Course Requirements

Course Delivery

Per Michigan PLE requirements, applicants are required to complete all of the lessons in the Prelicense education course before they can access the Prelicense final exam.

Michigan PreLicense Exam Prep Exam Requirements

Prelicense Course Exam

Passing Score: Applicants must pass the Prelicense.com course final exam to receive a certificate of completion.

NOTE: The state insurance license exam, administered by PSI, has higher minimum passing grades, as follows:
  • Accident & Health Producer exam - 75%
  • Life Producer exam - 72%
  • Life, Accident & Health Producer exam - 73%
  • Property & Casualty Producer exam - 73%
  • Property producer exam - 74%
  • Casualty producer exam - 73%
Exam Proctor Requirements: The final exam does not require a proctor.

Reporting and Michigan PreLicense Exam Prep Certificates of Completion

Certificate of Completion

PreLicense.com provides online, printable certificates of completion in Michigan. An applicant must meet the course delivery requirements before a certificate of completion can be issued.

Please note that certificates cannot be faxed to applicants since the provider representative's signature must be in ink other than black.

IMPORTANT: The licensing candidate must take the initial examination within 12 months of completing the PLE course. If a passing exam score is not achieved by the end of the 12 months, applicants will have to retake the Prelicense course, and earn a new certificate of completion.

State Reporting Requirements

Prelicense.com reports course completions daily to the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS).

Michigan PreLicense Application Process

License Application Process

  1. Complete Prelicense Education: Prelicense requirements may be met by completing an approved 20-hour approved self-study course.

  2. Successfully complete a Michigan licensing examination: If an examination is not passed within 180 days, the applicant must submit a new license application and fee on the NIPR website and reschedule their examination. Register for your State Exam online at psiexams.com or by phone (800) 733-9267.

  3. Check Test Center Availability By Visiting: https://candidate.psiexams.com/registration/displayagencylicenses_home.jsp.

    Materials Needed to Apply
    • A primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired) such as a Driver’s License or Passport
    • A secondary ID (signature, not expired) such as a Debit or Credit card
    • Each major line exam is given in a multiple-choice format.

  4. Apply for your License: File an Electronic Resident Licensing (ERL) Application through the NIPR website. The license application fee is $10.00 plus a $5.00 transaction fee. An application is valid for 180 days from entry into our databa se.

  5. Fingerprinting Process: There are no fingerprint requirements in the state of Michigan.

Transfer Michigan PreLicense Application Process

Transfer Producer Requirements

New residents who still hold an active license in their previous home state will not be required to complete prelicense education or take the license examination as long as:
  • The application is received within 90 days of their former home state license being surrendered.
  • The license being applied for is the same line of authority as in the previous.
  • If the prior home state license was surrendered more than 90 days ago, but less than 12 months ago, the applicant can obtain a license without prelicensing but must take the licensing examination.

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: A nonresident licensee who wishes to become a resident licensee must apply online and submit the required application fees at www.nipr.com

Materials Needed to Apply
  • Completed insurance license application www.nipr.com
  • The appropriate license application fees
Fingerprinting Process: There are no fingerprint requirements in the state of Michigan.

Non-Resident Michigan PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

Non-Resident License Requirements

Nonresident license candidates may obtain a Michigan agent license, without having to complete the Prelicense education requirement or take a license examination, as long as they are currently licensed as a resident and in good standing in their home state.

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: A nonresident licensee who wishes to become a resident licensee must apply online and submit the required application fees at www.nipr.com

Materials Needed to Apply
  • Completed insurance license application www.nipr.com
  • The appropriate license application fees
Fingerprinting Process: There are no fingerprint requirements in the state of Michigan.

Michigan PreLicense Contact Info

Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS)

  • Phone: (517)-284-8800
  • Website: www.michigan.gov
  • Mail: 530 West Allegan, 7th Floor Lansing, MI 48933

PSI


The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.