PreLicense.com provides state-approved Massachusetts PreLicense Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

PreLicense.com offers courses for the following MA license types:

Massachusetts PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

Massachusetts PreLicense Education Requirements

Individual Resident Producer Requirements

To qualify for a resident Massachusetts state insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Be a resident of Massachusetts.
  • Not have committed any act that is a ground for denial, suspension, or revocation as set forth in section M.G.L.
  • Have passed an examination administered by Prometric for the lines of authority for which the person has applied. This is not required for Variable (individuals must have their Lifeline of authority) or for Travel & Baggage.
  • Submit an insurance license application and pay the correct license processing

Before making an exam reservation applicants should thoroughly review the State of Massachusetts Licensing Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook and additional licensing information can be accessed by clicking on the tabs above.

Massachusetts PreLicense Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Initial Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling annuity products. *Residents who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Massachusetts law, will be deemed compliant for the Massachusetts requirement.

Additional Information

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-months, following the initial training requirement.

State Specific Training
Hours: 2
Frequency: For residents and non-residents who have completed an initial or/and ongoing NAIC LTC Training course in another state, they must take a 2-hour MassHealth Training course specific to Massachusetts.

Additional Information

Massachusetts PreLicense Exam Prep Course Requirements

Course Delivery

Applicants must read each lesson before they can proceed to the next lesson.

Massachusetts PreLicense Exam Prep Exam Requirements

Exam Requirements

  • Passing Score: PreLicense.com suggests students pass PreLicense.com's Practice exam with a score of 75% or higher.
  • Exam Proctor Requirements: The Practice exam does not require a proctor.

Reporting and Massachusetts PreLicense Exam Prep Certificates of Completion

Certificate of Completion

The Massachusetts Division of Insurance does not require a PLE certificate of completion.

State Reporting Requirements

The Massachusetts Division of Insurance does not require PLE course completions to be reported.

Massachusetts PreLicense Application Process

License Application Process

  1. Schedule State exam: Contact Prometric to register and pay for your exam and to schedule an appointment to take the exam.

    The easiest way to register for an exam is online at: www.prometric.com or by calling prometric at (800) 741-9380.

    Materials Needed to Apply:
    Identification requirements: You must present a valid form of identification before you can test.
    • Be government-issued (e.g., driver’s license, state-issued identification card or military identification card).
    • Contain both a current photo and your signature.

    Exam Format:
    • The passing score required on each exam is 70%.
    • Prometric notifies the Department of Insurance of your exam results within 2 business days.

  2. Apply for a Producer License: Apply online via NIPR’s Gateway Register at www.nipr.com. Your test scores will be electronically sent to NIPR, so please allow a few days. You may apply via a paper application by sending the NAIC’s Uniform paper license application form, your original exam score report(s), any other required filing documents and the license processing fee made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to:

    Massachusetts Division of Insurance Producer Licensing
    P.O. Box 370043
    Boston, MA 02241-1743

Transfer Massachusetts PreLicense Application Process

New Resident Producer Requirements

New residents who were previously licensed in another state may be exempt from having to take the licensing examination when applying for a new resident producer license. To become a resident licensee without having to take an examination, the following requirements must be met:
  • Submit a completed resident application and the appropriate fees to the within 90 days of canceling the other state’s license that was in good standing.
  • Have evidence of good standing of the other state’s license at the time it was canceled, such as a Letter of Clearance dated within the previous 90 days, or electronic verification through the Producer Database (PDB).

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: Submit your Application online by visiting www.nipr.com.

Apply using printable forms: Download the Uniform Application for Individual Producer and Mail to:
Massachusetts Division of Insurance, Producer Licensing
P.O. Box 370043
Boston, MA 02241-1743

Materials Needed to Apply
  • Completed license application
  • DBA Certificate, if applicable. The applicant must first apply to the Division of Insurance for DBA name approval.
  • Documentation relative to background questions, if applicable.

Non-Resident Massachusetts PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

Nonresident Producer Requirements

To become licensed as a nonresident insurance producer, an applicant must:
  • Be currently licensed as a resident and in good standing in his/her home state.
  • Not have committed any act that is a ground for denial, suspension or revocation set forth in section M.G.L.
  • Submit the NAIC’s Uniform application for Non-Resident Producers and pay the correct license processing fee, made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: Submit your Application online by visiting www.nipr.com.

Apply using printable forms: Download the Uniform Application for Individual Producer and Mail to:
Massachusetts Division of Insurance, Producer Licensing
P.O. Box 370043
Boston, MA 02241-1743

Materials Needed to Apply
  • Completed license application
  • DBA Certificate, if applicable. The applicant must first apply to the Division of Insurance for DBA name approval.
  • Documentation relative to background questions, if applicable.

Massachusetts PreLicense Contact Info

Massachusetts Division of Insurance, Producer Licensing

  • Phone: (617) 521-7794
  • Website: www.mass.gov
  • Mail: 1000 Washington St., Eighth Floor Boston, MA 02118-2218

Prometric


The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.