PreLicense.com provides state-approved Maine PreLicense Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

PreLicense.com offers courses for the following ME license types:

Maine PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

Maine PreLicense Education Requirements

Individual Resident Producer Requirements

To qualify for a resident Maine state insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Be a resident of Maine.
  • Have not committed any act that is grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license.
  • Pass the license examination as required by state statute.
  • Submit an insurance license application and pay the correct license processing

Before making an exam reservation applicants should thoroughly review the State of Maine Licensing Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook and additional licensing information can be accessed by clicking on the tabs above.

Maine PreLicense Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Initial Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling annuity products.

Additional Information

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every renewal cycle, following the initial training requirement.

Additional Information

Maine PreLicense Exam Prep Course Requirements

Prelicense Course Delivery

Applicants must read each lesson before they can proceed to the next lesson.

Maine PreLicense Exam Prep Exam Requirements

Prelicense Course Exam

  • Passing Score: PreLicense.com suggests students pass PreLicense.com's Practice exam with a score of 70% or higher.
  • Exam Proctor Requirements: The Practice exam does not require a proctor.

Reporting and Maine PreLicense Exam Prep Certificates of Completion

Certificate of Completion

The Maine Bureau of Insurance does not require a PLE certificate of completion.

State Reporting Requirements

The Maine Bureau of Insurance does not require PLE course completions to be reported.

Maine PreLicense Application Process

License Application Process

  1. Make an Examination Reservation: Register Online: PearsonVue (must register 4 days in advance)

  2. Materials needed to bring to the Site: Candidates must present two (2) forms of current signature identification. The primary identification must be government-issued and photo-bearing with a signature and the secondary identification must contain a valid signature. Identification must be in English

    Exam Format: Candidates must pass the state licensing exam with a 70% or higher to file a license application.

  3. Apply for a License: Apply online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com

  4. Apply using printable forms: Print Uniform Individual License Application and mail to:
    Maine Bureau of Insurance
    Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
    34 State House Station
    Augusta, ME 04333-0034

Transfer Maine PreLicense Application Process

Transfer Producer Requirements

New residents who were previously licensed in another state may be exempt from having to take the licensing examination when applying for a new resident producer license. To become a resident licensee without having to take an examination, the following requirements must be met:
  • Submit a completed resident application and the appropriate fees to the Bureau within 90 days of canceling the other state’s license that was in good standing at the time of cancellation and within 90 days of becoming a legal resident of Maine.
  • Have evidence of good standing of the other state’s license at the time it was canceled, such as a Letter of Clearance dated within the previous 90 days, or electronic verification through the Producer Database (PDB).

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: Apply online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com

Apply using printable forms: Print Uniform Individual License Application and mail to:
Maine Bureau of Insurance
Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034

Materials Needed to Apply

Non-Resident Maine PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

Non-Resident License Requirements

Nonresident candidates may obtain a Maine producer license without having to take a license examination as long as they are currently licensed as a resident and are in good standing in their home state. The Maine Bureau of Insurance accepts the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s (NAIC’s) uniform applications for nonresident producer licensing. Nonresident applications may be completed and submitted electronically (online) or by using a paper application.

License Application Process

Ways to Apply

Apply Online: Apply online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) at www.nipr.com

Apply using printable forms: Nonresident applicants may apply using the Uniform Non-Resident Individual License Application and mail the application to:
Maine Bureau of Insurance
Department of Professional and Financial Regulation
34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034

Materials Needed to Apply

Maine PreLicense Contact Info

Pearson Vue

Maine Bureau of Insurance

  • Phone: (800)-300-5000
  • Website: www.maine.gov
  • Mail: 34 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0034

The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements