PreLicense.com provides state-approved Delaware PreLicense Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

PreLicense.com offers courses for the following DE license types:

Delaware PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

PreLicense Exam Prep

Delaware PreLicense Education Requirements

Individual Resident Producer Requirements

To qualify for a resident Delaware insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Maintain principal place of residence or business in Delaware
  • Pass the license examination
  • Complete a criminal background check
  • File a license application and remit filing fees
Before making an exam reservation applicants should thoroughly review the State of Deleware Licensing Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook and additional licensing information can be accessed by clicking on the tabs above.

Delaware PreLicense Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell annuity products.

Effective June 1, 2017: All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products in Delaware, must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by December 1, 2017. All producers licensed on or after December 1, 2017 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.
*Producers who satisfy the training requirements of another state that are similar to the Delaware law, will be deemed compliant for the Delaware requirement.
(Go to the catalog and order new WebCE 4-Hour Annuity Training Course, which fulfills this requirement).

Additional Information

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 3
Frequency: All Delaware health producers who solicit LTC policies must complete at least 3 hours of state-approved Delaware LTC training during the 2-year license term in which the product is solicited. This requirement does not need to be met prior to solicitation of the product.

Additional Information

Delaware PreLicense Exam Prep Course Requirements

Course Delivery

Applicants must read each lesson before they can proceed to the next lesson.

Delaware PreLicense Exam Prep Exam Requirements

Course Exam Requirements

Passing Score: PreLicense.com suggests students pass PreLicense.com's Practice exam with a score of 75% or higher.

Exam Proctor Requirements: The Practice exam does not require a proctor.

Reporting and Delaware PreLicense Exam Prep Certificates of Completion

Certificate of Completion

The Delaware Insurance Department does not require a PLE certificate of completion.

State Reporting Requirements

Deleware Department of Insurance does not require PLE course completions to be reported.

Delaware PreLicense Application Process

License Application Process

  1. Make State exam reservation: Make an online reservation at http://www.pearsonvue.com/de/insurance/ or by calling (800-274-0455). Register at least 24 hours before the desired exam date or 5 days in advance if paying by electronic check.

  2. Finger Printing: Delaware requires that candidates obtain a criminal background report from the Delaware State Police. Please click here for registration. For locations and fees, please contact the DE State Police at 302-739-2528. Candidates will need to fax their criminal background report to the Delaware Insurance Department at 302-736-7906.

  3. Apply for a License: After passing the examination, apply for your license by contacting the State of Delaware Department of Insurance. For more information regarding obtaining a license go to www.delawareinsurance.gov.

Transfer Delaware PreLicense Application Process

Transfer Producer Requirements

If you are moving to Delaware and wish to qualify for a Delaware license without taking an examination, you must apply for your license within 90 days of the date your previous home state license was terminated.

License Application Process

Applicants who are currently licensed as a non-resident in Delaware will only need to complete a Form 2C change of address. This will need to be completed within 90 days from the date you move to Delaware.

Apply Online: Click here to apply online

Non-Resident Delaware PreLicense Application Process

Non-Resident License Requirements

Non-residents may apply by reciprocity and are exempt from the examination requirement, as long as they are currently licensed as a resident and in good standing in their home state.

License Application Process

Applicants who are currently licensed as a non-resident in Delaware will only need to complete a Form 2C change of address. This will need to be completed within 90 days from the date you move to Delaware.

Apply Online: Click here to apply online

Delaware PreLicense Contact Info

Delaware Department of Insurance

Pearson Vue


The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.