PreLicense.com provides state-approved Alabama PreLicense Exam Prep with a money back guarantee! Satisfy ALL your Prep requirements at one low price with our online or paper courses!

PreLicense.com offers courses for the following AL license types:

Alabama PreLicense Exam Prep Requirements

PreLicense Exam Prep Provider Number: 23300439

Alabama PreLicense Education Requirements

General Insurance Licensing Requirement

To qualify for a resident Louisiana insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:
  • Be 18 years of age or older
  • Must be a US citizen or have a current work authorization.
  • Reside or maintain a principal place of residence in Alabama.
  • Complete an approved prelicensing course of study (see prelicense requirements below) Submit fingerprints
  • Pass a written examination and file a license application

Required Alabama PreLicense Exam Prep Hours

PreLicense Education Requirements (PLE)

Applicants must complete prelicense education (PLE) for each major line of authority (LOA), as follows:

The Certification Exam must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone who is not a friend, family member, or financial connection to you).
  • Life – 20
  • Health and Accident – 20
  • Life, Health, and Accident – 40
  • Property – 20
  • Casualty – 20
  • Property and Casualty – 40
Before making an exam reservation applicants should thoroughly review the State of Alabama Licensing Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook and additional licensing information can be accessed by clicking on the tabs above.

Alabama PreLicense Product Training Requirements

Annuity Training

State-Required Product Training

Effective January 1, 2017: All producers currently licensed to sell, solicit, and negotiate annuity products must complete a one-time annuity training course approved for at least 4 hours by July 1, 2017. All producers licensed on or after January 1, 2017 must complete this training prior to selling, soliciting, or negotiating such products.

*Residents who have completed this training in another state with laws similar to Alabama law will be deemed compliant with this requirement.

Additional Information

Long-Term Care Training

State required training for insurance producers that sell long-term care products.

Initial Training
Hours: 8
Frequency: One-time training must be complete prior to selling LTC products.

Ongoing Training
Hours: 4
Frequency: Ongoing training must be completed every 24-month period following the completion of the initial training and every 24-moths thereafter.

Additional Information

Alabama PreLicense Exam Prep Course Requirements

PLE Course Delivery

Per Alabama PLE requirements, applicants are required to complete all of the lessons in the Prelicense education course sequentially before they can be issued a certificate of completion.

Alabama PreLicense Exam Prep Exam Requirements

Course Exam Requirements

  • Passing Score: Applicants must pass the PLE final exam with a 70% or higher to receive a certificate of completion.
  • Exam Proctor Requirements: PreLicense.com final exams do not require a proctor.

Reporting and Alabama PreLicense Exam Prep Certificates of Completion

Certificate of Completion

Upon completing the PreLicense.com course, a certificate of completion will be mailed to the applicant’s address on file within 2 business days. An applicant must meet Alabama’s PLE requirements before a certificate of completion is issued. Certificates of completion are valid for one year from date issued.

IMPORTANT: You must bring your certificate of completion with you when you arrive at the test center to take the exam. The test center will accept a copy only if the notary stamp and signatures are legible by the proctor.

State Reporting Requirements

Currently, Alabama Department of Insurance does not require PLE course completions to be reported to the state.

Alabama PreLicense Application Process

License Application Process

  1. Complete required Prelicensing education: Applicant must have completed the 20 or 40-hour prelicensing course and passed the state exam.

  2. Make an Examination Reservation and Pay the Fee: Applicants will need to forward a copy of their pre-license course certificate to the Alabama Department of Insurance at: Alabama Department of Insurance P. O. Box 303351 Montgomery, AL 36130-3351

  3. Register for Exam: The most efficient way for candidates to schedule their examination. Candidates must go to www.aldoi.gov/Licensing to make an online reservation for an examination or by calling (205)-348-3000.

  4. Finger Printing: All applicants seeking to become licensed or who are adding a new line of authority to an existing license must have completed a fingerprint background check. Applicants should seek to get fingerprinted at least 10 days before applying for the license. Fingerprinting Fee is $49.75. Instructions can be found here: www.cogentid.com.

  5. Apply for a License: Applicant must apply online. The license fee of $110 will be accessed along with a NIPR transaction fee of $5.00. (A $5.00 NIPR transaction fee will be charged for each initial and renewal transaction on top of the required state fee, for all license types. NIPR FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.)

  6. Print License: Once license application is submitted to the state, it takes them 24-48 hours to receive the information. The process takes a minimum of 2-4 working days. You can also check your status by calling Producer Licensing At 334-241-4126. Print your license.

Transfer Alabama PreLicense Application Process

Transfer Producer Requirements

New residents who still hold an active license in their previous home state will not be required to complete Prelicensing education or take the license examination as long as:
  • Provide a letter of clearance from previous home state for same line of authority
  • The license being applied for is the same line of authority as in the previous state

License Application Process

Apply Online: Click here to submit your license application online. Alabama is currently not accepting applications by paper. Click here for a current fee schedule.

Non-Resident Alabama PreLicense Application Process

Non-Resident License Requirements

Non-resident license candidates may obtain an Alabama producer license, without having to complete the prelicense education requirement or take a license examination, as long as they are currently hold an active license in their resident state for the same lines of authority for which they are applying.

License Application Process

Ways to Apply
  • Online NIPR Online Process: for non-resident applicants who hold any type of resident license in their home state. Click here to apply.
  • SBS Online Process: for non-resident applicants who hold rental vehicle, legal services, dental services, credit, personal lines, and motor club lines of authority and do not hold any type of license in your home state. Click here to apply.
  • Non-resident applicants are no longer required to provide certification letters from their home state. Click here for a current fee schedule.

Alabama PreLicense Contact Info

Alabama Department of Insurance

The University of Alabama College of Continuing Studies


The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.