Choose A Product




Utah PreLicensing Requirements

Individual Resident Producer Requirements

To qualify for a resident Utah insurance producer license, the applicant must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a resident of Utah
  • Be of good character and competency
  • Pass the license examination as required by state statute
  • Submit fingerprints

To conduct insurance transactions as a producer, you must:

  • Hold a current license for the line of insurance being transacted.
  • Be appointed and/or designated by an authorized insurer or licensed insurance agency.
  • Be under contract with that insurer or insurance agency.

PLE Requirements

State Candidate Handbook

Before making an exam reservation Candidates should thoroughly review the Utah Candidate Handbook, which contains the exam content outline and important information regarding eligibility and the examination and licensing application process.

Course Delivery

Applicants must read each lesson before they can proceed to the next lesson.

Exam Requirements

  • Passing Score:  PreLicense.com suggests students pass PreLicense.com's Practice exam with a score of 70% or higher.
  • Exam Proctor Requirements:  The Practice exam does not require a proctor.

Certificate of Completion

The Utah Insurance Department does not require a PLE certificate of completion.

State Reporting Requirements

The Utah Insurance Department does not require PLE course completions to be reported.

State Licensing Exam

Methods of Registration

Materials Needed to Register

Candidates must present 2 forms of valid identification (non-expired signature bearing).  The identification must match the first and last name under which the candidate is registered.

Test Centers

  • Testing Sites: Click here to find testing site locations

State Exam Passing Score

Candidates must pass the state licensing exam with a 70% or higher to file a license application.

License Application Process

Important: Your license application and fee must be submitted within 90 days of passing your exam. After 90 days, the exam must be retaken in order for a license to be issued.

Ways to Apply

All Utah license applications must be filed electronically. Upon successful completion of the licensing exam, the candidate may apply for a producer license by completing and submitting the license application electronically via Sircon by using the kiosk located in the exam center and by paying all fees with a credit card. Sircon will electronically forward the application and all fees to the Utah Insurance Department.

Materials Needed to Apply

Candidates who receive a passing score on the state exam will need to forward the materials listed below to the Utah Insurance Department.

Fingerprinting Process

The Utah Insurance Department requires all individuals applying for a resident insurance license to be fingerprinted. Fingerprinting must be done at a Prometric test center, using "live scan" technology, which digitally captures and transmits the fingerprints to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), for a criminal history background check. Fingerprinting is not required for resident licensees adding a line of authority to an existing license.  Click here for additional instruction.

New Resident Producer Requirements

Utah is reciprocal in its licensing of new Utah residents who were previously licensed in another state.

Application Process

A nonresident licensee who wishes to become a resident licensee will need to forward the materials listed below to:

Utah Insurance Department
State Office Building, Suite 3110
P.O. Box 146901
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901

Materials Needed to Apply

  • Submit a completed license application and the appropriate fees to the Department within 90 days of canceling the other state’s license that was in good standing at the time of cancelation and within 90 days of becoming a legal resident of Utah. (Note: After 90 days, a Laws and Regulations exam is required.)
  • Submit proof of residency to the Department within the last 90 days (for example, a Utah driver’s license with an issue date or a mortgage agreement or lease agreement).
  • Have evidence of good standing of the other state’s license at the time it was canceled, such as a Letter of Clearance dated within the previous 90 days or electronic verification through the Producer Database (PDB).

Fingerprinting Process

The Utah Insurance Department requires all individuals applying for a resident insurance license to be fingerprinted. Fingerprinting must be done at a Prometric test center, using "live scan" technology, which digitally captures and transmits the fingerprints to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), for a criminal history background check. Fingerprinting is not required for resident licensees adding a line of authority to an existing license.  Click here for additional instruction.

Nonresident Producer Requirements

The State of Utah is a signatory to the NAIC Statement of Uniform Treatment of Nonresident Producers. Utah accepts NAIC Uniform Applications and has accepted the NAIC Model Producer Licensing Act.  Contact the Department for specific instructions.

  • Hold an Active Resident License in one of the Home States participating in the National Insurance Producer Registry's Producer Database.
  • Complete non-resident license application
  • Provide your Social Security Number. (This is a required data field when completing the Non-Resident Uniform Application.)

Application Process

Ways to Apply

Materials Needed to Apply

  • Completed non-resident producer license application
  • Application fee (application fees are noted on the licensing application)

State-Required Product Training

Your state has special training requirements in order for licensed agents to sell the following products:

Long-Term Care: Before selling LTC insurance products in Utah, producers must complete an initial 3-hour, state-approved LTC training course.

Purchasing state-required Product Training with your exam prep course from the PreLicense.com catalog will allow you to take one of the special training requirement courses from WebCE. Additional fees for state filing, books or shipping may apply at the time you register to begin taking the product training course.

Click here for more information regarding state-specific product training.

Contact Information

Utah Insurance Department
State Office Building, Suite 3110
P.O. Box 146901
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6901
Phone: (801) 538-3800
In-state toll-free: (800) 439-3805

Web site: www.insurance.utah.gov

PSI Exams
800-733-9267
www.psiexams.com

The licensing information presented here is a brief summary only and is not intended to be comprehensive or complete. We urge you to check with your state's insurance department for complete and current information about its licensing rules and requirements.

PreLicense.com Course Features Enhance the Exam Prep Experience

Prepare for your state insurance license exam with confidence. Engaging course features enhance the PreLicense.com study experience by reinforcing key points that are essential for passing the license exam:

  • State-tailored courses cover the topics you need to know to pass your state’s license exam – and nothing more.
  • Video introductions and summaries to each lesson reinforce key test points
  • Dynamic glossary works two ways:
    • Click Glossary on the course menu bar and get fast access to hundreds of insurance terms and definitions
    • Place the cursor over any highlighted word in the lesson for an instant pop-up definition
  • Search for any word or phrase in the course quickly with the easy-access Search feature.
  • Practice makes perfect! Check your knowledge and sharpen your test skills with end-of-lesson quizzes and an end-of-course mastery exam. Immediate scoring helps you pinpoint subjects or topics that may require additional study.
  • Simulate your state exam. Included with every PreLicense.com course is State Exam Tutor®, a powerful diagnostic testing tool that provides unlimited customizable practice exams and complete state exam simulations.
  • Drill and practice your knowledge of key insurance terms with Flash Tutor® flashcards, a unique study aid that gives you more than just terms and definitions. Included with every PreLicense.com course.